RU-FI-OOOOOH!

Sohail Mirza, standing in for Peter.

Sweet, sweet Charamel

I’ve been away from the blog for a while, so I thought I’d return on a note of beauty. If you’ve never tried the Firefox/Thunderbird theme, Charamel, I highly suggest you take a look at the home page at the very least.

Charamel Sneak Peek

In my opinion it is hands-down the most beautiful theme for either Mozilla product. The travesty is that the theme only supports up to version 1.5 of both Firefox and Thunderbird. The theme is so smooth and delicious, it’s almost worth reverting to Firefox 1.5 for. Almost.

From the glorious iconography to the fantastic, melt-in-your-mouth colour scheme, this theme is as perfect as I’ve seen any theme get.

Check it out, and if you can, try to convince the author of the theme to update his theme for Firefox/Thunderbird 2.0. Only thing is I’m not sure it’ll be possible to sway the author as he’s showing the following message on the website:

No Charamel theme for Firefox 2

Initially thinking this code may have been due to an unclosed tag in the author’s HTML, I took a quick look at the code and was saddened to find this little tidbit:

<table id="hiatus" border="0">
<td align="left">
charamel[firefoxVer="2"]{<br>
display:none;
<br>
}</div>
</td>
</table>

No, I’m not saddened because there’s an unopened <div> in the table cell, or even because the <td> isn’t wrapped in a <tr>. Instead, I’m saddened because the id attribute on the <table> confirms that the Firefox 2 version of the theme is officially on hiatus.

Oh sweet, sweet Charamel, why dost thy beauty blind me so??

Written by Sohail Mirza

April 16, 2007 at 10:26 am

Posted in Firefox, Style

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved the Charamel theme as well. Even if it’s not supported on FF/TB 2, there’s a hack to make it work on version 2 as described on this site: http://www.twistermc.com/blog/2005/09/22/charamel-best-firefox-and-thunderbird-theme#comment-58876

    Everything seems to work, only the Add-On Dialog looks a bit strange.

    Me

    April 26, 2007 at 8:12 am

  2. Great tip, Me. Thanks for the link!

    I’ll try it out and perhaps post some screenshots.

    Sohail Mirza

    April 26, 2007 at 9:37 pm

  3. Charamel was, in my opinion, the best theme ever created for Thunderbird (for Firefox it was the iPox šŸ˜‰
    I was very sad to see that it doesn’t support TB2.0, and is “on hiatus indefinitely”…

    Thanks for the hack! It’s great to see the charamel again, it’s almost like meeting an old friend!

    Plamen P.

    May 4, 2007 at 7:40 am

  4. I don’t know. I never quite got used to iPox, and it seemed to have a few nagging visual glitches that just irked me.

    Sohail Mirza

    May 4, 2007 at 9:02 am

  5. psst… charamel has been updated!

    kemie

    October 17, 2007 at 7:50 am

  6. Holy moly… thank you so much, kemie! Oh soooooo smooooooooth…

    Sohail Mirza

    October 17, 2007 at 10:23 am

  7. […] 17th, 2007 · No Comments How I’ve missed you Charamel. But now that you’re Firefox 2.0 compatible, I’ll never let you […]


Comments are closed.

