RU-FI-OOOOOH!

Sohail Mirza, standing in for Peter.

Wii Router Woes

I have a friend staying with me these days, and his birthday was a few days ago. He decided that he deserved a Wii, so between the two of us we bought him a Wii and a handful of accessories.

We had a bit of trouble getting it online. I own a Linksys WRT54G wireless router (revision 3) which is running the DD-WRT firmware (version 23 SP1, I believe). Apparently the Wii really doesn’t like DD-WRT firmware because it simply wouldn’t go online. I figured it had to be something related to the encryption mode in use. I was using WPA-PSK (TKIP) encryption, which is supported by the Wii, but the Wii just couldn’t make the initial connection to the internet. My router’s System Information console showed the Wii constantly connecting to and disconnecting from the router.

I eventually realized that the encryption setting may in fact be preventing the Wii from connecting to the Internet, despite the support for the encryption protocol in use. What I tried next was to disable the wireless encryption on my router and…. success! The Wii connected!

Following the initial connection, the Wii attempts to download a system upgrade, which I allowed it to do. I was hoping that the upgrade would include broader router and networking support.

Fortunately, my hunch was correct since I was able to re-enable the WPA wireless encryption without affecting the Wii’s internet connection. We wouldn’t want to be running an unsecured wireless access point now, would we!

Written by Sohail Mirza

August 11, 2007 at 11:38 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah this is my exact configuration — WRT54Gv3 with DD-WRT version 23SP2 — and trying in vain to get a Wii to connect using WEP encryption. Okay I will try this tonight!
    I am stuck using WEP because of the Nintendo DS but guess what, it doesn’t connect either. Nintendo sucks at connecting wirelessly, whereas my Nokia 770 with OS2006 has not a smidge of trouble at all. Nintendo should not have released such flakeware.

    Grunchy

    September 20, 2007 at 1:34 pm

  2. Well, I cut Nintendo some slack since they’re a gaming company, and not a broader technology company. But, who knows, maybe they just invested in some shabby wireless chipsets.

    Either way, the good news is that the encrypted connection will work perfectly after a system update.

    By the way, you really shouldn’t be using WEP. Try using WPA instead! Much safer and more secure than WEP!

    Sohail Mirza

    September 20, 2007 at 1:56 pm

  3. Same trouble here – the darn Wii didn’t want to connect in any way to the Linksys router (not even without encryption!).
    After applying the Tomato firmware to the router everything works like a charm with WPA (which can be hacked as well by the way!).

    McSundae

    October 22, 2007 at 2:40 am

  4. […] with this out of the box!  I’m just trying a little fix, that’s posted just here.  I’m writing this as I do run through […]


Comments are closed.

