RU-FI-OOOOOH!

Sohail Mirza, standing in for Peter.

Jericho cancelled, yet again

JerichoOver at ReadWriteWeb, Josh Catone comments that internet fandom is not ready for primetime.  This commentary follows the news that the CBS TV series Jericho was cancelled again.

Josh asks:

What do you think? Are there any other reasons why strong online numbers haven’t translated well to the TV? Do you think Internet fandom will ever be ready for primetime?

In the comments, David Dworsky replies with an excellent statement.  He essentially asks when the differentiation made between TV and the Internet will cease.

I actually wholeheartedly agree with David.  As an example, I barely watch TV shows on my television anymore.  In fact, for the last few years, I’ve not even had a television, preferring to either watch shows with the TV tuner on my computer, or better yet, preferring to download the TV shows so that I could watch them at my leisure.

This is hardly a new concept to this Internet generation, but people are more and more expecting to be able to consume media on the devices of their choosing, at the time of their choosing, and via the medium of their choosing.

I believe this fact has really impressed upon on the TV industry.

Unfortunately, the industry still relies on old-world metrics that appear to have dealt Jericho a fatal blow.  It’s really too bad since the show is genuinely entertaining, and obviously has a large following.

My hope is that Jericho is only the first of such shows, and that eventually shows with large online followings are realized to be as worthy of investment as major network shows like Lost or House.   In fact I’d like to see us more rapidly advance to a point of being medium-agnostic when it comes to content distribution and consumption.

Written by Sohail Mirza

March 23, 2008 at 9:14 pm

Posted in TV

Tagged with , ,

