RU-FI-OOOOOH!

Sohail Mirza, standing in for Peter.

Star Trek beams onto Apple Movie Trailers

May 8th, 2009, a date which previously had no meaning to me, is now a date marked on my calendar.

What’s up on that auspicious day?  Star Trek is up, that’s what:

Star Trek title image from film trailer

Mr. Abrams, I presume?

This isn’t going to be just another run-of-the-mill Star Trek, but rather J.J. Abrams‘ interpretation of it.  I’d known for some time that a new Star Trek was coming in 2009, and that J.J. was at the helm, but for some reason it had slipped to the back of my mind.  I suppose the “blah” aftertaste of the last few Trek film outings left me a little jaded.  Well, it’s right and proper back at the top of my to-watch list.

Screen capture featuring Star Trek film director, J.J. Abrams

Yes, Mr. Abrams, you've caught my attention.

Who is J.J. Abrams?  The mastermind behind Lost and Cloverfield, that’s who.

Abrams seems to really hit and miss with viewers though.  Lost and Cloverfield are two of his productions that I believe are brilliant, but there are others who find them to be without appeal.  My hope is that the same does not happen with Star Trek, though it seems to be inevitable due to the departure from established Star Trek canon.

Showing you the money

The Apple Trailers site is hosting the latest trailer for Star Trek, in HD resolutions of course.  By now, you should all know how to download the HD trailers.

For those who can’t download the trailer, or can’t watch it right way, I’m happy to provide a smörgåsbord of screenshots, presented by James Tiberius Kirk himself:

Chris Pine as James T. Kirk

"James Tiberius Kirk here, and more dashing than ever. But, wait, what am I looking at?"

Kirk looks upon the Enterprise

"Ah yes, the the beauty of the Enterprise is a thing to behold!"

Zachary Quinto as Spock

"Spock, my good friend, there are you are! Glad to see you're along for the ride as well!"

Spock and Kirk stand together

"Why yes, we do look dashing. What, me with this menacing look, and you with the same stoic expression..."

The Enterprise in warp

"The only thing I like more than debating logic with Spock is speed. Warp speed."

Kirk racing across the plains of Ohio

"When I'm off-ship, sub-light speeds will have to do."

Kirk drives over 70 mph

SPEEEEEEEEEEED!

The U.S.S. Kelvin, being destroyed

"It won't just be Spock and I speeding around space. Expect plenty of explosions as well!"

Star Trek hits the theatres on May 8th, 2009

"So where are you going to be come May 8th? That's right, watching me be dashing. With your support, I can be dashing for many more sequels to come."

Logo for the Star Trek film of 2009

"Thanks for tuning in. Kirk out."

Geek fanboys ruin everything

Image of Professor Frink, a character from the Simpsons TV series

"Bwaahai! Everyone knows the Enterprise was built in space and not on Earth. The energy required for a ship of that size to escape Earth's gravity is clearly more than could be produced by the rudimentary anti-matter reactors of the time!"

Good grief, I hope the Star Trek fanboys don’t ruin this for me.  I’ve already had to listen to a co-worker dump on the trailer, pointing out every single deviation from Star Trek canon.

Following that, I had an extremely uncanny experience in the elevator the very next day.  There, I was subject to one geek telling the other that the movie will be a disappointment because of it’s canonical rejection.

I’ve always considered myself a huge Star Trek fan.  Though I cannot recall the design specs for LCARS from memory, I did own the Star Trek Techical Manual.  Despite this (or perhaps because of it), I am willing to give a reboot of the series a chance, and moreover, I’m willing to give J.J. Abrams a chance.  He deserves at least that from the Trekkies.

See you on May 8th

After the reveal of this trailer, I find myself really looking forward to this new take on Star Trek.  J.J. Abrams is the right man for the job of breathing new life into the long-running franchise.

Though the film looks to distinguish itself from estabished lore, I think Gene Roddenberry would’ve been proud.

Written by Sohail Mirza

November 26, 2008 at 5:01 am

Posted in Movies

Tagged with , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Right on and well put!

    Hard Core Trekkies seem to have more sectarian divide than those of actual ethnic groups in the present day. Hell, you can’t get a Next Generation, Voyager fan and Deep Space Nine Fan to sit down at the same table without idle threats and half-accurate quotes from repective characters of their preferential shows.

    Then you have your moderates who just relish in all the above…

    .. They are the ones who will feel that satisfaction when they sit in crowded theaters side by side with regular movie goers and not a sporadic-filled theater of die-hards boing every time something contradicts their own “warped” versions they hold true.

    In time, the rejectionists themselves will watch the movie and secretely enjoy it, but blog it to death under a different screen names for the sake of attention.

    😉

    Airborne Stormtrooper

    March 27, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  2. I just want to ask you if you will make more posts like this one, well will you ?:)

    Bethany Cybart

    March 17, 2010 at 5:51 am

  3. i love the pictures. William Shatner and Chris Pine are sexy

    sexy b****

    March 29, 2010 at 9:55 pm


Comments are closed.

